The English Way

I’m an Anglophile. Big time. I love the UK. I’ve been fortunate enough to travel there on business four times. The first, I spent the weekend in London after my meetings, and did some touristy things with my good friend and mentor.

I’ve also ‘had a go at’ a British accent. I read the Harry Potter books to my son in my regular American voice for narration, British for the dialogue. With practice, I got good enough to really freak out my colleague from London! 🙂 His reaction was quite amusing.

London Travels

Here I am at the Tower of London in November of 2014 (prior to straightening my teeth with Invisalign.)

10532942_10152892790572953_6079356321626462634_n.jpg

The red poppies are a work of installation art placed in the moat of the Tower of London between July and November 2014, commemorating the centenary of the outbreak of World War I. It consisted of 888,246 ceramic red poppies, each intended to represent one British or Colonial serviceman

10173521_10152892790682953_7949797026188083328_n.jpg

Listening to Pink Floyd’s “Time,” I heard the line,

Hanging on in quiet desperation is the English way

Yup. The Brits are known for being unfailing polite. Stoic in suffering.

And that’s sad.

Don’t Suffer in Silence

I don’t like the idea of anyone suffering, and I really don’t like the idea of them doing so quietly. Reaching out to others to connect over shared human experiences is a beautiful thing. It’s healing. Not something to be avoided.

Crushing the Mental Healthcare Stigma

Fortunately, “the English Way” is changing. The young members of the royal family have begun working towards mental health causes, and this is so wonderful to hear. As written in The Guardian,

Prince Harry and the Duke of Cambridge are working for the Heads Together campaign, which seeks to combat the stigma surrounding mental health issues, and to encourage people to speak more openly about their difficulties.

This entry was posted in Misc Wellness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The English Way

  1. Pingback: You Don’t Wish You Were Here | Meg's Wellness Blog

  2. Pingback: English Ways & Music | Meg's Wellness Blog

  3. Pingback: Ease and Benefit of Networking | Meg's Wellness Blog

Leave a Reply

